Two Des Moines Schools Receive National Counseling Designation

12/18/2009 12:17


Two Des Moines Schools Receive
National Counseling Designation

DES MOINES (Dec. 16) — Brubaker Elementary School and Madison Elementary School in Des Moines have received the Recognized ASCA Model Program (RAMP) designation. The elementary schools are two out of 35 schools nationwide to be recognized this fall for making an exemplary commitment to comprehensive school counseling programs.

The RAMP designation, awarded to schools that align with the criteria set in the ASCA National Model, recognizes schools that are committed to delivering a comprehensive, data-driven school counseling program and an exemplary educational environment. Only about 250 schools nationwide have received the RAMP designation since the program’s inception in 2005.

Brubaker and Madison Elementary Schools join King Academy of Math and Science in being recognized as RAMP schools. King Academy was honored in the spring of 2009. Brubaker Elementary School counselor Damon Holland has been a school counselor for four years (three years at Brubaker) and Madison Elementary school counselor Sarah Majoros has been a school counselor for six years (all six years at Madison).

“Damon and Sarah are excellent examples of the quality counselors we have in our schools,” said Dr. Nancy Sebring, superintendent of Des Moines Public Schools. “They work every day to enhance the learning environment for our students and in turn, help improve their lives.”

RAMP applications are reviewed by a panel of school counseling professionals.

The American School Counselor Association ( is a worldwide nonprofit organization based in Alexandria, Va. Founded in 1952, ASCA supports school counselors’ efforts to help students focus on academic, personal/social and career development so they not only achieve success in school but are prepared to lead fulfilling lives as responsible members of society. The association provides professional development, publications and other resources, research and advocacy to 26,000 professional school counselors around the globe.

The Des Moines Independent Community School District is Iowa’s largest provider of public education serving the individual needs of more than 31,000 students in 66 schools with more than 5,000 dedicated teachers and staff. For more information about Des Moines Public Schools visit



FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT                                                                                   
Leigh McGivern
Director of Community Relations
515-242-7603 – o
515-778-3890 – m